Print this Page. Send this Page.

Intellectual History - Cooperation

Home | Team | Research | Teaching | Publications | Events | Cooperation


The Max Planck Institute for the History of Science (MPIWG) in Berlin is one of eighty research institutes in the natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities administered by the Max Planck Society. It was established in 1994 as an international research center for the history of science in Germany. Researchers at the MPIWG investigate how new categories of thought, proof, and experience have emerged in the centuries-long interaction between the sciences and their ambient cultures.

Founded in 1957, the Institute for the History of Natural Sciences (IHNS) in Beijing is one of the institutes of the Chinese Academy of Science (CAS). It is the sole comprehensive and multi-disciplinary organization devoted to research on history of science in China, as well as one of the few research centers for the history of Chinese science and technology in the world. Besides history of science and technology, the institute's main research areas cover philosophy of science and technology, relationships between science and other areas such as society, culture and civilization, and development strategies of science and technology.

The Institute for Modern History in Taipei was formally established in 1965 as one of 24 Research Institutes of Academia Sinica.

Since 2009 the team REHSEIS (Recherches Epistémologiques et Historiques sur les Sciences Exactes et les Institutions Scientifiques) has been brought together with the team CHSPAM (Centre d’Histoire des Sciences et des Philosophies Arabes et Médiévales - ancienne UMR 7062) to constitute the UMR 7219 (« Laboratoire de Philosophie et d’Histoire des sciences », Paris Diderot University/CNRS). Founded in 1984 by Roshdi Rashed, Christian Houzel and Michel Paty, since more than twenty years the REHSEIS team engages in research in the area of epistemology and history of exact sciences –mathematics, physics, life sciences– as well as the history of scientific institutions.

An intensive research cooperation exists with the History Department of Fudan University in Shanghai, China.

Visiting Scholars

Wang Huibin (University of Science and Technology Beijing), Mar 2016 – Feb 2017

Chu Ping-yi (Academia Sinica, Taipei), Apr 2015 – Jul 2015

Tian Miao (Institute for the History of Natural Sciences, Beijing), Nov 2013 – May 2014

Eric Hayot (Penn State), Aug 2013 – Apr 2014 (Fulbright Scholar)

Ozaki Kazuko (Kansai University), May 2013 – Aug 2013

Ana Carolina Hosne (Institute for Advanced Studies of Paris), Feb 2013 – Feb 2015 (Marie Curie Fellow, Gerda Henkel Foundation)

Lū Lingfeng (University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei), Oct 2012 – Oct 2013

Andreas Janousch (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid), Dec 2012

Yokote Yutaka (University of Tokyo), Oct 2012 – Dec 2012

Ari Daniel Levine (University of Georgia), May 2011 –  Jul 2011, Jun 2012 – Aug 2012

Dhruv Raina (Jawaharlal Nehru University) 

Yu Li (Williams College), Oct 2009 – Sep 2010

To top