• Your current position:
  • News >
  • Detail

Print this Page. Send this Page.

Third Kyoto-Heidelberg Workshop "History and Memory"

Apr 11, 2018

On April 9, the third Kyoto-Heidelberg joint workshop “History and Memory“ took place at the Office of Society-Academia Collaboration for Innovation at Kyoto University. Researchers from both universities gathered to discuss the development of their research as part of the collaborative project "Entangled Pasts in a Global Present: Gender, Labor and Citizenship."

The DAAD-JSPS funded project is led by Prof. Harald Fuess, Professor for Cultural Economic History at the HCTS, and Prof. Yoko Nagahara from Kyoto Universtiy. Following the first meeting in Kyoto in April 2017 and the second in Heidelberg in December 2017, the third workshop, "History and Memory," was held in conjunction with the annual HeKKSaGOn meeting, this year hosted by Kyoto University.

The participants discussed their projects including overseas Japanese cemeteries from the Asia-Pacific War, war memory of the first Sino-Japanese war in Hiroshima, a Korean woman's sojourn in Sweden in the 1920s, and the public memory of the National Liberation Day in South Korea in the 2000s. The two teams from Heidelberg and Kyoto will have the fourth and final meeting in Heidelberg in November 2018, where further discussion will be held on the way in which the research results can be published.

The funding is a joint program between the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS). The Japan Society for the Promotion of Science is an independent administrative institution, established to contribute to the advancement of science in all fields of the natural and social sciences and the humanities.

Harald Fuess is the Professor for Cultural Economic History at the Cluster “Asia and Europe” and the Heidelberg Centre for Transcultural Studies. He is also Project Professor in the Top Global University Program at Kyoto University.

The team from Heidelberg consisting of researchers and young scholars was represented by Takuma Melber, Andreas Eichleter, Takahiro Yamamoto, Maksym Grinenko, Till Knaudt, Jaok Kwon-Hein, Hyojin Lee, Roman Tsirulev, and Collin Rusnaec.


© Photographs courtesy of Patrick Vierthaler


RSS Feeds

RSS FeedNews Feed

  • Prof. Harald Fuess

  • The workshop participants

  • Dr. Takuma Melber