• Your current position:
  • News >
  • Detail

Print this Page. Send this Page.

Membership in the Forum Transregionale Studien

Apr 08, 2015

Heidelberg University becomes a member of the Forum Transregionale Studien. The Cluster/HCTS closely cooperates with the Forum Transregionale Studien. Most recently, Prof. Dr. Barbara Mittler has been appointed to the Forum's Board of Directors. Prof. Dr. Monica Juneja is a member of its Academic Advisory Board.

The Berlin-based Forum Transregionale Studien is a research organization that promotes the internationalization of research in the humanities and social sciences. It is dedicated to a research agenda that systematically links disciplinary approaches and the expertise of area studies by focusing on entanglements and interactions across national, cultural or regional borders. The Forum provides scope for collaboration among researchers with different regional and disciplinary perspectives and appoints researchers from all over the world as Fellows. In cooperation with universities and research institutions in and outside of Berlin, it carries out research projects that examine other regions of the world and their relationship to Germany and Europe systematically and with new questions.

Apart from Heidelberg University, the following institutions are members of the Forum Transregionale Studien: Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften, Centre Marc Bloch Berlin, Freie Universität Berlin, Geisteswissenschaftliche Zentren Berlin e.V. for the Zentrum Moderner Orient, German Institute of Global and Area Studies, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin GmbH for the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, the Max Weber Stiftung – Deutsche Geisteswissenschaftliche Institute im Ausland, the Philipps-Universität Marburg, the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Universität Leipzig, and Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin.

The Forum is led by a five-member board of directors consisting of Andreas Eckert (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin), Friederike Pannewick (Philipps-Universität Marburg), Marianne Braig, Sebastian Conrad (both Freie Universität Berlin) and Barbara Mittler (Heidelberg University).

The Academic Advisory Board consists of Ravi Ahuja (Universität Göttingen), Thomas Duve (Max-Planck-Institut für Europäische Rechtsgeschichte, Frankfurt), Erika Fischer-Lichte (Freie Universität Berlin), Barbara Göbel (Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz), Monica Juneja (Heidelberg University), Viola König, Ethnologisches Museum (Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz), Philipp Lepenies (Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies, Potsdam), Birgit Meyer (Universität Utrecht), Jürgen Renn (Max Planck Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte, Berlin), and Björn Wittrock (The Swedish Collegium for Advanced Study SCAS, Uppsala).

For further information visit the website of the Forum Transregionale Studien.


RSS Feeds

RSS FeedNews Feed