Seite drucken. Seite weiterempfehlen.


SARIT: Enriching Digital Text Collections in Indology

Koordination: Birgit Kellner, Liudmila Olalde


Sanskrit texts make up one of the richest cultural and intellectual archives of the premodern world, linked with deep traditions of sophisticated and systematic reflection on basic questions of the humanities. The SARIT project – Search and Retrieval of Indic Texts –, jointly proposed by partners in Columbia and Heidelberg, will develop and disseminate standards for Sanskrit texts, based on the widely-adopted Text Encoding Initiative (TEI). The project continues and further develops an existing project, initiated by Dominik Wujastyk, Patrick McAllister and other colleagues that produced and maintain the SARIT web platform.

Within the new SARIT project, high-quality digital editions of key texts will be produced in the three areas of Buddhist philosophy (especially epistemology and logic), Vedic hermeneutics, and literary theory, and made available for free download. With the further integration of two existing prosopographical and bibliographical databases, and with the
addition of new features for reading, searching, annotating and analyzing these texts, SARIT will develop into an entirely new and collaborative platform for Indological research, standards-driven and extensible, tying in with ongoing development work at the Heidelberg Research Architecture (HRA). SARIT’s structured and standards-compliant digital corpus will form a solid basis for the future development of advanced tools for textual analysis, which are sorely needed given the sheer magnitude of Sanskrit literature, and the complexity of intertextual relations and forms of textual transmission that are characteristic for it.

The project is jointly directed by Prof. Sheldon Pollock (Columbia University) and Prof. Birgit Kellner (Heidelberg).

Project consultants: Dominik Wujastyk (University of Alberta), Amba Kulkarni (University of Hyderabad), Oliver Hellwig (INDSENZ).

Project coordinators: Liudmila Olalde (Heidelberg), Andrew Ollett (Columbia).

Additional project members: Patrick McAllister (Heidelberg), Peter Pasedach (Heidelberg/Hamburg),Jens Østergaard Petersen (Heidelberg/HRA).

Funding period: 1 October 2013 – 30 April 2017